Christ’s Hospital Old Blue Special Recognition Awards

Christ’s Hospital recognises and acknowledges Alumni who have made an important contribution to the profile of the School through their achievement.

Nominations are sought for alumni who have made an important contribution to the local, national or international community in the course of their career,  through voluntary or charitable work or commitment to Christ’s Hospital.

The Old Blues Association seeks nominations for the award from Old Blues or Others. The fields for which nominations will be considered are:

  • Achievement in a chosen career
  • Community engagement and leadership
  • Achievement in Science and Engineering
  • Excellence in sports or the arts
  • Commitment to Christ’s Hospital
  • Young Achiever’s Award (for Old Blues under 30)

These fields may change, other fields may be added or considered over time.Further details of how to nominate a candidate are provided in an attached document. Click here for details.

Nomination Form

Closing date for applications for Friday 9 December 2016


Past winners


Terry Bate (ColA 45-51) Achievement in a chosen career
Chris Bugge (PrepB, MaB 56-63) Commitment to CH
Sir John Daniel OC (PrepA, MdB 52-61) Achievement in a chosen career
Kathleen Duncan OBE (3s 5s 56-65) Commitment to CH
Catherine Higham (nee Ennis 6s 65-71) Excellence in the Arts
James Hooper (MaB, GrE 98-05). Young Achiever (Old Blue under 30)
Josh Leakey VC (ThA, GrW 99-06) Young Achiever (Old Blue under 30)
Irene Rigold (7s 38-46) Community Engagement and Leadership
Mike Stock (PrepA, PeA 43-50) Community Engagement and Leadership


Joe Launchbury (MdB, GrW 02-09) Young Achiever (Old Blue under 30)
Bryan Magee (BaA 41-48) Achievement in a chosen career
Graham Mellstrom (MdA 41-48) Commitment to CH
Sir Richard Nichols (PeB 47-55) Contribution to the community and commitment to CH
Sally O’Brien (5s 70-77) Commitment to CH
Neville Osmond (MaA 44-51) Commitment to CH
Timothy Parsons (PrepB, BaB 42-49) Achievement in a chosen career


John Chumrow OBE (ColB 39-46) Commitment to CH
Sir Colin Davis CBE (ThB 38-44) Excellence in Sports or The Arts
Moyna Gilbertson OBE (6s 42-48) Commitment to CH
Fred Grant (MdA 36-42) Commitment to CH
Geoff Hines (LaB 51-59) Community Engagement and Leadership
Lance Reynolds (PrepA, MdB 49-58) Commitment to CH


Robin Crane CBE (PeA 41-49) Community Engagement and Leadership
The Baroness Deech DBE (1s, 7s 53-61) Achievement in a chosen career
Diana Gould (nee Robinson) (5s, 8s 42-51) Commitment to CH
Charles Hazlewood (MaA 78-85) Excellence in the Arts
Susan Mitchell (nee Hamilton) (1s, 7s 47-56) Commitment to CH
Dennis Silk CBE (PrepA, MaA 42-50) Excellence in Sport and Achievement in chosen career